Finally! What happens when the window of warmth opens up; aka, the benefits of sunshine and nature


Some of you may already know this…so, this is for those who have never heard about the benefits of sunshine and nature. Here’s a quick list:

  • Sunshine (from News Medical)
    • One of the best sources of Vitamin D
    • A healthy looking complexion
    • A moderate tan makes skin more resistant to sunburn and infection
    • Stimulates appetite, improves digestion and metabolism
    • Enhances immune system
    • Helps balance out hormones
    • Improves liver function
    • Helps convert cholesterol into vitamin D (Wow! I had no idea!)

And to top off the above list, this was my favorite in my research…

“Nice days put us in a good mood, which engenders helping and generosity,” explains David Strohmetz, a psychologist at Monmouth University. “When we’re in a good mood, we want to maintain that mood.” (Psychology Today)

  • Nature (from NYTimes, The Frontal Cortex)
    • Increased immune function
    • Stress reduction
    • Raises levels of white blood cells
    • Improved cognitive function

And another relevant find was from the Oxford Journals and a research paper on the health benefits of nature…

“The longer-term, indirect impacts (of ‘nearby nature’) also include increased levels of satisfaction with one’s home, one’s job and with life in general.” (Oxford Journals)

An Ode to Nature and Sunshine

2 thoughts on “Finally! What happens when the window of warmth opens up; aka, the benefits of sunshine and nature

  1. I live a place where we get no sun during the Winter. When the sun comes out we celebrate. Over the winter, I get really down because of the lack of sun. Half the reason why I started my blog was to remember the joys of summer. Let the sun shine bright but don’t forget the sun block!

    1. I actually know the feeling. For two and a half years, I lived in Ohio while going to school. I didn’t like winters, because every day was cloudy. I remember my first year there, arriving in December, and got very depressed until the sun came out in April. And yes, sunscreen is the best. Sunshine in taken in moderation does me wonders. lol…never thought I’d say that.

Leave a Reply

