Enduring the cold for a better life


Today was my second day riding in the early morning. It’s not that I have stopped riding any other time of the day, because I still ride five to six days a week at sunset. It’s just that I haven’t been losing weight for several weeks and I still have 85 pounds left to lose.

So, even though I love taking it slow on weekend mornings, I dragged myself out of bed at 5:30 this morning and donned several layers of clothing (it was just a tad cold outside…and windy) and climbed aboard my Schwinn mtn bike for a cardio workout. And let me tell you, talk about a workout…fighting that west wind was a bear, not to mention, freezing cold. My fingers were turning all shades from red, to blue to white. But, like I said, I’m not losing and I really don’t want to take this extra weight with me into retirement and old age.

What’s so great about an early morning workout?

For some ‘experts’ it’s the fact that your body has been fasting for a length of time (over night) and so, there is no insulin production, which means when your body is working hard, it will go to its reserves for its fuel  to keep you going. As a matter of fact, only 20 minutes of cardio are required in the morning to get that fat burn. So, that’s why I endured the harshness of this morning’s start. Well that and seeing the sunrise.

Is there anything wrong with this idea?

Well, in helping me to make this post more factual, I did a little research to find info out there that supports the early morning workout. Unfortunately, I found conflicting information. I’ve linked those articles in this post.

Where do I go from here?

Will I ride in the morning again? Sure. I don’t have a problem with it and it makes me feel good in the morning. Not like I haven’t been feeling good otherwise, but it’s always a plus to get outside and enjoy nature. That one thing is a positive and all the literature out there is unanimous in the benefits of being in nature.

What else will I do to help me move off of this hump?

I will follow the healthy eating described in some literature to lower my glycemic levels. There’s no doubt about what foods do to a person’s body. I just need to be more diligent about staying away from foods higher in carbs. The hard thing for me is that I thought I was doing a good job with that whole idea…I guess my body is changing more than I had thought (as we age, our bodies change in dramatic ways). And one other thing I can do is vary my caloric intake daily. Fluctuating the calories keeps your body from hitting that stagnant level, which is what I’ve done. And yes, there is literature out there that explains what it means to vary the calories. And, I will continue to track my food…it helps when you hit those plateaus to determine what was working when you were losing.

Morning workout photos

After the photos, take a look at some of the links for more info on insulin, glycemic levels, exercise, and more…

Today’s menu: (first number is calories, second number is glycemic index)

– I might vary the following menu by removing some chicken and adding more olive oil or another combination of subtractions and additions

1/2 breast chicken = 142 GI = 0; total calories will be roughly = 568 after multiplying by 4
Egg whites (x3) = 51 GI = 0
Olive oil = 40 GI = 0
Cheddar cheese (1 ounce) = 113 GI = 0
Ranch dressing (2 tbsp) = 146 GI = 0
Goodness knows (almonds and berries) = 150 low GI
Peppermint Mocha = 210 GI = 8?
Zucchini (1 large) = 3 GI = 0
Yellow squash (1 large) = 3 GI = 0
Onion = 11 GI = 1
Tomato = 21 = GI = 2
Mushrooms = 1/2 cup = 8 GI = 1
Cilantro = 5 GI = 0
Romaine lettuce (2 cups) = 16 GI = 2

Total Calories roughly 1300
Total GI = 15

GI total compared with 1 cup cooked white rice: GI = 18

Links

One thought on “Enduring the cold for a better life”

Leave a Reply

