Talking with Colorado Department of Transportation


Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways Links

How many byways does your state have? Colorado has 25 scenic and historic byways. These byways span the state with many of them linking one to another. The scenery and history that can be found across these byways is vast (spanning 10s of 1000s of years), beautiful and at times quite unique. If you haven’t noticed, or have just come across this blog, maybe you don’t know how passionate I am about this state and the byways…so stick around and I will share my joy with you, too.

This past week, I met with the Program Director of the Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways at CDOT (Colorado Department of Transportation). We talked about the byways, the volunteer groups along the byways, and what I could do to help considering I will be riding and driving the byways over the next two years. We came up with a whole bunch of ideas…all of which I would love to implement, but sadly there aren’t enough hours in the day. I will though, work on some of the ideas we talked about to help out the byways organizations and to add to the CDOT Byways website.

One thing I have noticed is that I have not found one website that contains all the links to all the byways’ regional organizations. That would be a terrific undertaking to have one website for all of them and because like I said, I just don’t have enough time in the day; I will instead add all the byways website links to this blog over the next two years.

With that said, here are some links of the first 4 byways that I have driven, along with Colorado Byways (state and national) organization links:

Regional Byways Websites:

Colorado State (and National) Byways Websites:

Leave a Reply

