Just another Weekend in the Rockies


Sunflowers and the Ten Mile Range.

It’s not a byway, but highway 285 going southwest from Denver through the Platte River Canyon, over Kenosha Pass and into the South Park National Heritage area isn’t such a bad road; I think mostly because of where this road can take you on any given weekend day.

Hiking

Yes, I love to hike and Hwy285 has tons of hikes just off the road, or for the adventurous spirits, taking an off highway road can yield some spectacular hiking results.

Mount Bailey: My first hike was up to the top of Mt. Bailey close to our mountain home and about a mile off of Hwy285. I decided to walk to the trailhead from our front door, which was about a half to full mile walk. At the trailhead, you are greeted with a sign that says, “Hike at your own risk.” I wasn’t too worried, even if this was the first time I had hiked the mountain. Less than a hundred yards in, I understood what the sign meant. The first part of this trail seems to have a gentle slope, but right at the first switch-back, the trail slopes upward steeply and this steep grade continues for the rest of the hike. Luckily, the switchbacks not only keep you from completely losing your breath, they also offer a short respite before forging upward.

Of course, I’m talking about myself mostly when I talk about losing breath. I seem to have this issue with exercise induced asthma. It’s nothing I can’t handle, nor does it make me give up. On the contrary, it pisses me off just enough to get my stubborn streak roaring into full steam ahead.

Another interesting thing to note about the hike, is that there are plenty of “stay on the trail” signs along the way, to help guide you as you go. The trail almost seems to disappear at times, because of the ruggedness and maybe also because it doesn’t seem to be used that much. I was the only person on the trail this day.

Just before you reach the end of the trail which is an amazing cliff drop-off, you cross over several metal lines that carry information from the Mt. Bailey radio tower down to the residences below.

The reward after hiking the steeply graded trail with a gain of approximately 375 feet from the trailhead is breathtaking. Of course, I had to watch my step, as there is quite a drop-off at the cliff’s edge. The cliff is quite broad and faces southward producing spectacular views of the Platte River, Kenosha Mountain Range and the town of Bailey below.

Mt. Bailey = 9089 feet above sea level
Trail = 1.2 miles from trail head
Elevation gain = 375 feet

Boreas Pass Trail: The full trail is about 10 miles if taken on the Breckenridge side of the pass. On this trip, my hubby and I drove up from the Como side and parked at the Pass at 11,481 feet. The drive is a very rough dirt road of about 10 miles to the pass. It’s better to drive it with an AWD, or 4×4 vehicle, but this day, we took my small front-wheel drive Pontiac.

There are at least two trail heads at the pass. On the north side of the pass is the Black Powder Trail and on the south side is a trail which you can take to the top of one of Colorado’s 13’ers, Red Peak.

We took the southern trail, but only as far as the first ridge described on the 13ers.com website. The trail is strenuous, but again, quite rewarding when you reach the top of the first point. Because the starting point is quite high in elevation already, it didn’t take too long to leave tree line behind and what lay before us, was the colorful tundra bursting forth with wildflowers. I had lots of excuses to stop and take photos…um, aka catch my breath.

Again, reaching the top of the first point was quite rewarding…not only because of the views, but because of taking on a challenge and overcoming that little voice in my head that tends to want me to give up. After reaching the top, my hubby and I had a nice snack, granola bars and water, and took our time soaking in the landscape and amazing weather.

Coming back down, we had to bypass a small snowfield to get to the trail. As I walked carefully amongst the tundra wildflowers, I looked down and noticed something flitting quickly from bluebell bunch to bluebell bunch. At first, I thought it was a small humming bird, but it had antenna and no long beak. I watched it work its way from one bunch of flowers to the next…sucking in the nectar as it darted back and forth. Later, I learned this strange creature was actually a moth, sometimes called the “hummer” moth. Its actual name is the Banded Sphinx Moth. I won’t include the scientific name, but the website I linked does.

I think we’re going to have to come back to Boreas Pass at least twice…once to hike the Black Powder Trail and another time to hike the full Red Peak trail.

Red Peak Trail (first point) = 12,029 feet above sea level
Distance = ~1 mile from parking area
Elevation gain = 548 feet

Lunch in Breckenridge: After finishing our hike, we were famished…really hungry. Lunch was late for us, but well worth it. We stopped at the Breckenridge Brewery for a sandwich and a beer before heading back home to Bailey.

Heading home: The nice thing about driving over Boreas Pass into Breckenridge was that we didn’t have to touch any high-volume highways, such as I70, which can get quite crowded on weekends. As we headed back to Bailey, we took highway 9 which takes you over Hoosier Pass and into the town of Alma and then Fairplay.

3 thoughts on “Just another Weekend in the Rockies”

  1. What a beautiful way to spend your 4th. Doing what you love with the one you love. I enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

